Vedic Astrology

Vedic Astrology is astrology based on medieval Hindu texts, wherein the relative positions and movements of celestial objects is used as a means for forecasting information about human affairs and fortunes.

Rasi - zodiacal signs

The Nirayana, or sidereal zodiac, is an imaginary belt of 360 degrees, which, like the Sayana, or tropical zodiac, is divided into 12 equal parts. Each twelfth part (of 30 degrees) is called a sign or rasi (Sanskrit: 'part').

Vedic and Western zodiacs differ in the method of measurement. While synchronically, the two systems are identical, Jyotish uses primarily the sidereal zodiac (in which stars are considered to be the fixed background against which the motion of the planets is measured), whereas most Western astrology uses the tropical zodiac (the motion of the planets is measured against the position of the Sun on the Spring equinox).

Nakshatras - Lunar Mansions

A Nakshatras or lunar mansion is one of the 27 divisions of the sky, identified by the prominent star(s) in them, used in Hindu astrology.

Gocharas: transits

The natal chart shows the position of the grahas at the moment of birth. Since that moment, the grahas have continued to move around the zodiac, interacting with the natal chart grahas. This period of interaction is called Gochara.

Dasa-s: planetary periods

The word Dasha ('planetary period') means 'state of being' and therefore the Dasa governs to a large extent the state of being of a person. The Dasa system shows which planets may be said to have become particularly active during the period of the Dasa.

The ruling planet (the Dasanatha or 'lord of the Dasa') eclipses the mind of the native, compelling him or her to act as per the nature of the planet.

Grahas: planets

The Nine Planets of Vedic Astrology or Jyotish are the forces that capture or eclipse the mind and the decision making of the human being-thus the term 'Graha'.

When the Grahas are active in their Dasas or periodicities they are particularly empowered to direct the affairs of the person or the inanimate being as the case may be. Even otherwise, Grahas are always busy capturing us in some way or other, for better or for worse.

Yogas: planetary combinations

Yoga (Sanskrit: yoga, 'union') is a combination of planets placed in a specific relationship to each other.

It is usually advisable to study the underlying theme behind the Yogas rather than attempt to memorize them. Raja Yogas are givers of fame, status and authority and are formed typically by the association of the Lord of Kendras/ quadrants, when reckoned from the Lagna/ ascendant, and the Lords of the Trikona/ trines.

Bhavas: houses

The Hindu Jataka, or Birth Chart, is the Bhava (Sanskrit: 'division') Cakra (Sanskrit: 'wheel'), the complete 360° circle of life, divided into houses, and represents our way of enacting the influences in the wheel.

Each house has associated karaka (Sanskrit: 'significator') planets that can alter the interpretation of a particular house.Each Bhava spans an arc of 30 degrees and therefore there are twelve Bhavas in any chart of the horoscope.

Drishti: aspects

Drishti is an aspect to an entire house. Grahas cast only forward aspects, with the furthest aspect being considered the strongest. For example, Mars aspects the 4th, 7th, and 8th houses from its position, and its 8th house aspect is considered more powerful than its 7th aspect, which is in turn more powerful than its 4th aspect.

Consult Amit Talwar - Astrologer in regard to Vedic Astrology